A password-protected directory or area is a folder which could be accessed only if a username and a password are typed in, so no unauthorized people can see its content. This function can be used for the main folder of a particular website or just for a particular subfolder based upon your preferences. As an illustration, when you are developing a new website and you don't want people to see it before it's completely ready, you should limit the access to it altogether, whereas if you need only some individuals to be able to access specific files, you could password-protect only a certain folder, while the remaining portion of the website can be seen by anyone. Anyway, a “403 Forbidden” error page shall appear in the event that the login details the visitor inputs aren't accurate. Even a direct link to a file will not work if any folder above it is password-protected.

Password Protected Directories in Cloud Hosting

With the password protection tool provided with each and every cloud hosting plan which we provide, you will be able to secure any content that you have within your account with just a few mouse clicks. Because the tool is an element of our ground breaking Hepsia Control Panel, it has exactly the same uncomplicated interface and you'll not need any special skills to use it. When you go to the Password Protection section, you will have to pick one of the domains or subdomains you have in the account and then decide whether the protection should be switched on for the main folder or for a subfolder. Then type in the username and the password you want and you will be all set. A small padlock symbol within the File Manager section will tell you that a particular folder is password-protected. In the same exact way you shall be able to add multiple usernames and passwords for the same folder if you want several people to have their own login credentials.